Mohawk District Serves all of Yates and Seneca Counties and the eastern halves of Ontario and Wayne Counties. 

This district includes the towns of Newark, Sodus, Clifton Springs, Gorham, Rushville, Penn Yan, Dresden, Dundee, Phelps, Geneva, Lyons, Wolcott, North Rose, Red Creek, Clyde, Savannah, Waterloo, Seneca Falls, Romulus, and Ovid.

The final Mohawk virtual Roundtable and Award Recognition is May 5

As you are aware, the Seneca Waterways Council has reorganized so the May 5 virtual Roundtable will be the last formal event for Mohawk District.  All unit leaders and Scouters in the district are invited, if you did not get the April 29 email from District Chair Joe Talbot with the Zoom invitation link, please contact him for it.

At the SWC Annual Meeting on May 3, the Key 3 leaders for the new districts will be announced, you can click here for the new map.  Some of the units in Mohawk will be in District C and some in District E and we expect there will be live picnics in June for the units in the new districts to get to know each other.

The Mohawk Key 3 are shown on the right, other contacts:

Venturing Roundtable: Bill Ryan 315-651-8789
Scouts BSA Roundtable: Irene Barber
Cub Scout Roundtable: Angela Pullen, 585-683-6666

Religious Emblems Coordinators.:  Jennifer Clancy  315-694-0918,  Jim Wilck   315-576-6292

OA Contact information:  Mike Donovan  and Connor Clancy, Chapter Chief.  All OA members are invited to the chapter meeting held each month in connection with the district Roundtable the first Wednesday of the month at Waterloo HS. All Scout Troops that have not signed up for an Order of the Arrow election date should contact Jennifer Clancy or Mike Donovan to do so as soon as possible. For more information, please read the February 24, 2021 message from Connor – click here

Tschipey Achtu Lodge web page & 2021 – 2022 calendar

STEM Coordinator: Vacant 

Advancement Chair: Ira Goldman  203-434-3680 

Merit Badge Counselor Registration Changes  – effective 2/21/2021 click here 

Eagle Advisors: Fred Schule (Geneva), Bob Hutteman (Newark)

Mohawk News

April 17th 2021 District Pinewood Derby Results

Thank you for all who participated and helped out at the District Pinewood Derby, and a big shoutout to Pack 5 for hosting! Please see the race times below for each rank. Congratulations to all of the winners! There were some very fast cars and impressive looking cars over the weekend!

District Pinewood Results 2021


Spring Events at Camp Babcock Hovey

May 8 or 22 (pick one day) Top Shot Challenge click for flyer

June 18-20 Raccoon Work Day click for flyer

2021 Council Trainings

IOLS Part A – May 13, 2021
National Youth Leadership Training (NYLT) – July 18 – 24, 2021
NYLT (2 Weekend Course) – July 31 – Aug. 2, 2021 & Aug. 8 – 9, 2021
Wood Badge (2 Weekend Course) – Sept. 24 – 26 & Oct. 9- 10, 2021


Summer Camp 2021!

On February 17th, 2021 the Governor of New York announced Wednesday that overnight summer camps, for now, will open in June. He is hoping the downward trend of New York’s COVID numbers will continue through then.

This is so exciting it’s worth repeating….if you’ve been wondering if you and your Scouts will be able to attend summer camp this year, the doubt is over. THEY CAN! Massawepie Scout Camps, Camp Babcock-Hovey, and Cub Scout Adventure Camp at J. Warren Scout Reservation have already started to hire our summer camp staffs, engaged food service providers, prepared to order program supplies and have started to work with the New York Departments of Health directors for the counties our camps reside in on how we can operate this summer.

As we continue to get guidance from the New York Department of Health on what testing, monitoring, and procedures will be required for our staff and campers we will communicate it out to Scouts and Scout Leaders.

Register Now for Camp! With the eagerness many will have to get to camp after the long-year away, our camps will fill up quickly!

Camp Babcock Hovey is full weeks 1 & 2 but limited space remains for week 3 and if Mohawk units would like to come for week 4 (first week in August) contact Aaron Vikemyr 585.241.8570 


Covid-19 FAQ (Advancement Changes, other Covid-19 related changes

There have been Covid-19 related changes from National that show on this FAQ, and some newer changes, including the section on eagle extensions. The questions with a diamond in front of it are the newly added FAQ’s. This will help everyone to keep up with changes to rank advancements, Eagle Extension updates, Merit Badge updates…etc. It is a very helpful tool for all units.   Note that the FAQ has links to Scoutbook and the BSA Guide to Advancement which are also useful tools and references.


EPA 50th Anniversary Environmental Award

The Environmental Protection Agency, as part of a public awareness campaign to celebrate its first 50 years, has partnered with the Boy Scouts of America to create an award for members of troops, crews and ships. The application for this award in calendar year 2021 is now available – click here


Congratulations to the Mohawk District Class of 2020 Eagle Scouts

Mohawk District Class of 2020 Eagle Scouts – click here to see the list

S.A.F.E Return to Scouting Checklist

As always, the safety of our Scouts, volunteers, employees and communities is our top priority. A S.A.F.E. checklist has been provided that outlines several minimum guiding protocols that adult leaders/ volunteers must consider while working with local and state health departments, local councils, chartered organizations and Scouting families on when and how to resume meetings, service projects, camping and all other official Scouting activities. If it is not practical to meet these minimal protocols, do not restart in-person activities.

You can the checklist on the right hand column under resources after clicking the link below.


Recruitment Ideas

If there are any recruitment based questions on how to go forward with one, please contact District Executive Will Gales at With any of these idea please keep the S.A.F.E. Return to Scouting checklist in mind located above. Here are some things to always keep in mind when recruiting…

Great ways to promote your unit and increase membership

  • Power of 3! (each scout recruiting 3 new scouts into the program)*
  • Personal Invitations (personally contacting and inviting families to join your unit)*
  • Being in constant contact with the school district, and asking if flyers can be sent home with students
  • Checking “Be a Scout Leads” after accepting online applications
  • Recruiting using social media (community FB pages)
  • Creating Flyers to promote the units recruitment events (DE Will Gales can assist with creating flyers)
  • Appearance and recruitment at Community Festivals
  • Recruiter Patch Promo
  • Bring a Buddy Cards
  • Uniform Days @ School
  • Open House Tables
  • Middle School Promos

Questions? Ask your District Executive, Unit Commissioner, and District Commissioner, we are here to help!